Assault, Resisting Arrest, and Domestic Violence

Maryland has two degrees of assault: first degree and second degree. Assault in first degree is a felony and involves the use of a weapon or firearm with intent to cause serious injury. The maximum penalty for first degree assault is 25 years. Second degree assault is typically charged as a misdemeanor, but carries a maximum penalty of 10 years and/or $2,5000. Second degree assault can include the intentional but unconsented to touching of another person, the attempted intentional unconsented to touching of another person, or an act committed with intent to put fear of imminent bodily harm. If the assault was on a police officer and caused physical injury, assault in the second degree can be charged as a felony.

Assault cases often involve civilian witnesses who present differing accounts of the incident. In addition to assault, the firm has vast experience handling resisting arrest and malicious destruction of property cases. The attorneys at Goldstein & Stamm, P.A. have years of experience dealing with the complicated issues that often emerge during trials in these kinds of cases.

Many times allegations of assault involve complainants who are related to or in relationships with the individual charged. These cases often involve complicated issues regarding the applicability of spousal privileges, recanting victims, and protective or peace orders.

Please contact the experienced attorneys at Goldstein & Stamm, P.A. if you have been charged with: assault, violation of protective or peace orders, reckless endangerment, telephone misuse, stalking, harassment, malicious destruction of property, or other charges involving allegations of domestic violence.

We Accept the Following Payment Solutions

Maryland DUI Law

Maryland DUI Law

(Vol. 8, Maryland Practice Series)
By: Leonard R. Stamm

Contact Us

Fill out the contact form or call us at 800-256-8172 or 301-345-0122 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message